Join Cool Up and the Global Cool Cities Alliance on 22 March for a webinar entitled Sustainable Cooling at the Urban and Building Levels

Cooling Buildings from the Outside In.

In this webinar, the Cool Up programme and Global Cool Cities Alliance (GCCA) will discuss how cool surfaces at the urban level can work together with other sustainable cooling measures at the building level to achieve climate-friendly cooling.

We will look at solutions that can be scaled up in the MENA region and across the globe.

The event will take place at 12:00CET/13:00EET/14:00TRT and is open to the public.

Register here

 

Date: Tuesday, 22 March 2022

Time: 12:00CET/13:00EET/14:00TRT

Air conditioning is both a driver and a consequence of global warming. Fortunately, climate change adaptation and mitigation solutions exist on both the urban and building levels to tackle the need for cooling. Cool roofs and pavements can help reduce the effects of urban heat islands by increasing the reflectivity of roads and buildings. This can reduce demand for air conditioning by up to 20%, which is particularly important for the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. In these countries such measures go a long way towards safeguarding well-being and contributing to affordable and sustainable cooling. When combined with other sustainable cooling measures like energy efficiency and natural refrigerants, cool surfaces can be effective tools in the sustainable cooling toolbox.

In this webinar, the Cool Up programme and GCCA will discuss how cool surfaces at the urban level can work together with other sustainable cooling measures at the building level to provide cooling that’s good for people and the planet. We will look at solutions that can be scaled up in the MENA region and across the globe.

 

Download the invitation | pdf 1.57 Mb

Explore the benefits of reflective, cool surfaces

Download GCCA’s factsheet on cool roofs and pavements

Browse the Cool Roofs and Cool Pavements Toolkit

 

Agenda

  • Introduction | Dr. Nesen Surmeli-Anac, Guidehouse
  • Urban level cooling | Maria Koetter, GCCA
  • Buildings level cooling | Dr. Andreas Hermelink, Guidehouse
  • Question & answers

Moderator: Kristen Brand, Guidehouse